Posts from the ‘Songs’ Category

Rum Currency – The Bolters (Work In Progress)

At this stage it doesn’t look like this project will be finished any time soon due to lack of time, interest and money. No progress has been made for a number of months, so I have had to shelve it to work on other projects and get back to life. Maybe I’ll get back to it next year (or later), but here’s the partially completed recordings pending any musical additions from others  at some point down the road.

Rum Currency – The Bolters (Work In Progress) (c) 2014 Rum Currency

1. Southwark Fair


2. God’s Unholy Water


3. Morton Bay Bound


4. As I Came In By Williamstown


5. Skin And Blister


6. Blue Eyed Boy


7. Walk The Day Away


8. Tobacco And A Dollar


9. Cane Cutter’s Lament (The Connaughtman’s Rambles)


10. Shit Town


11. The Toll Gate

Can’t Take You Anywhere (2010)

It’s WAY too hot in the tropics to record the last few tracks so I’m putting an end to the misery of this one. It took at least two years longer than I planned to put together and has given me the shits no end.

Here it is, Can’t Take You Anywhere, donate five or ten bucks if you think it’s worth it OR spend 1000 days in Sodom you tight arses.

so I can afford to buy more gear to keep recording substandard folk music!

Track Listing:

01 Songfeld
02 As I Roved Out Of Shit Town
03 Tianjin Drinking Song
04 I Once Knew A Fella
05 Screaming Bloody Murder
06 Maggie Lauder (Trad.)
07 Can’t Take You Anywhere
08 Until The Light Of Day
09 Mount Kembla
10 Black Eyed Lisa
11 Token Sailor Song
12 Country Life (Trad.)
13 Vagabondage/The Black Meat
14 Never Trust A Sailor
**Extra Tracks:
15 The Drunken Vegan
16 Dark Eyed Lady
17 The Eviction Song
18 Amsterdam
19 Valerie Cinneide

(c) 2010 All songs written by Rum Currency except Track 6 and 12 Traditional Arr. Rum Currency **Tracks 15 – 19 from Blaggard Warm Stout Demo 2007

This work is licensed under a  Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0.

Download Can’t Take You Anywhere:

Here, or

Here, or



Here’s the two demos recorded while I was living in western Melbourne in a freezing cold fibro shack.

Warm Stout (2007)












Can’t Write Can’t Play Can’t Sing (2006)




Downloads Available!

The whole demo in progress can be downloaded below. You’ll need 7-Zip to extract the file. It’s free!

%d bloggers like this: